Homemade Mayo

mayo2

I subscribe to the belief that Hellmann’s® – RealMayonnaise is the one and true Mayo.  I have tried before to make my own mayo.  I have not been overly impressed with the results.  They seemed heavy and oily, yuck!  I am sure it was the oil I was using.  Olive, Blended Vegetable, Canola.  Then I had an epiphany….go to the experts and see what they use.  So I turned the jar around to read the list of ingredients.  SOYBEAN oil.  Yeah, let’s try that.

Mayo1

Ingredients:

(ALL ingredients should be room temp)

1 Egg Yolk

1 Whole Egg

1.5 Tablespoons White Wine Vinegar (1 T + 1.5 t)

1 Tablespoon Water

2 teaspoons Fresh Lemon Juice

1 teaspoon Dijon Mustard

1 teaspoon Salt

2-3 teaspoons Honey

1.5 Cups Soybean Oil

Put all ingredients except oil into your food processor, pulse a few times to incorporate.  With processor running drizzle in a few drops of oil at a time.  Once it starts to emulsify you can drizzle the remaining oil in a steady stream.

Way better than my previous attempts!  Flank the fish seems to agree 😉

Store refrigerated in an airtight container.  Should keep for up to a week.

Leave a Reply

